Paper Wars

Hello there! As posted earlier on Sunday, here is the first post of Writings Wednesday! This isn’t my best writing, I know – but I remember exactly how I felt when I wrote this… This was quite recent, probably early last year when I flunked my re-sits for my JC1 promotional examinations. I remember feeling pumped and ready but I guess… nah, I still tried. I still remember looking back at my scripts and remembering how my heart sank and I had to bring home an unworthy results slip to an-already explosive home. So, here it is in its full glory.

Paper Wars.

I want to walk, I want to walk when there is a spring in my step. I want to be able to walk, feeling lighter and lighter as I take more steps and feel like I’m flying. 

I want to dance, I want to dance to the rhythm of my destiny. I want to be able to dance, feeling more alive than ever as I move to the tempo of the beat. 

I want to sing, I want to sing to the melodies of my heart’s desires. I want to be able to sing, so loud and proud until the world stops and takes note of my voice. 

I want to drink, I want to drink to the lessons learnt and failures. I want to be able to drink, feeling more unbreakable as the days go by, more than ready to push. 

I want to stretch, I want to stretch myself so tall. I want to be able to stretch, for as long as I can go, to walk over all obstacles and trample on negativity to go further. 

I want to roar, I want to roar harder and louder than the lion I was born to be. I want to be able to roar, so my enemies will hear my cry and run in fear as I approach. 

I want to kill, I want to kill all my demons and lucifers. I want to be able to kill, to unleash the beast within me and leave no negative toxic waste unharmed. 

I want to rise, I want to rise like the Phoenix reborn from the ashes. I want to be able to rise higher than I’ve ever been, and fly high up in the skies and see the grand plan. 

This is my war cry. This is my cry in the hunting ground. I don’t know what fear is, I don’t want to know what it means. I go in, armoured with angels and alloys. I am against Goliath, I am against evil. Nobody is going to bring me down. No vultures will be left circling around me. Victory is in my veins, success is in my blood, winning is the only thing I know how to do. 

You are my competition. You are my enemy. You are the one in my way. I will annihilate you. I must do everything to stop you from beating me. I will pull you away from the finishing line, because I must be the one to finish first. I must be the one to get to the top, and crush you in the mean time. You won’t get up, because I am meant to be on top. 

I am in the arena, the best of the best. I am in the arena, with 24000 others who will finish with me. I am in the arena, where only the best survive and thrive. We are all different, we have our own talents, we are made for our own purpose. 3 darts, one test. Only 3 bullseyes will keep you safe, anything less than that – say goodbye to staying above the line. 

Drown, I must drown you. It is the only thing I can do now to stay alive. I don’t care about you; I am your friend, I am your closest aid. I want to help you, but I come first, and my survival is key, and I must keep it at its best. I’m sorry, I’m not sorry, I don’t actually know what sorry is. 

I want to walk, I want to dance, I want to sing, I want to drink, I want to stretch, I want to roar, I want to kill, I want to rise. I want to come out on top. To hell with you, I only matter. 

Welcome to Singapore. 

Leave a Reply

