Aller Anfang ist schwer.

(edit: the first 3 paragraphs were written on Sunday [it’s Monday not], I got chased to bed since it was 0040 and I had work the next day).

Ah, I promised a happy post, so here it is! Guten Morgen/Tag/Abend, schön,  dich kennenzulernen! 🙂 A new week is going to begin next week, and another week without #F1. I have a post that will go up on Thursday but until then, you’ll have to bear with me and here is another one of my crazy ramblings and many lessons to be learnt.

Learning Deutsche (German)

Maybe you would have noticed that in one of my previous posts, I posted a photo of my week in my planner and you would have seen, written in black/red/yellow GERMAN. Well, from the unusual greeting aforementioned, you probably would have guessed it. I am learning a new language! At this point, people would shake their heads or laugh or frown, because 1) who am I going to speak to, 2) it’s a difficult language, 3) why?!. Well, my answer straight up would be, that I want to learn it. Why? Well, contrary to popular belief, German is actually spoken more widely than French, Spanish or even English! I am well aware that both my best friend and family members speak French and the rightful thing is to practise with them and make life easier for myself, but I’m not going to do that! Though French is a beautiful language, I am drawn by the difficulty (& similarity to English) of the language. I also recently found out that Germany offers tuition-free education, I may or may not be mad enough to go for it. But, baby steps. I need to brush up my German to even consider that as an option. (Honestly, it’s not that hard yet!)

UNIQLO

I wanted to dedicate this section to an entire post, but I didn’t know how to phrase it in such a way that I will not offend anyone so I shan’t. I must say, in a short span of a week I’ve learnt things about the common Singaporean a lot more than I ever had in my lifetime. I catch myself saying “What’s that?” more than I should, and I’m learning new words that I should know, but I didn’t. I find myself being the grammar police and having to correct their grammar, and I am exposed to a side that I couldn’t imagine myself being in. So far it’s been educational, other than the usual pains and tiredness that comes from a retail job. Also, most of them speak their own mother tongue among themselves, which quite frankly, is quite unsettling for me to hear. Well for one, my mother tongue is English and there is no one to speak German to, so I just stand in the middle of it all trying to catch on with the joke/conversation.

Blessing others

Adding on to the previous post, this point deserves a paragraph on its own. If you ever worked in retail on a full 9 hour shift, you know what I’m talking about. When you’re finally done packing, stacking and neatly “hand-ironing” all your clothes on the shelf, the last thing you wanna do is give yourself more work at another section. You’re aching, you feel like collapsing and you just want to sit down and chug down your bottle of water. I must admit, there were 1 or 2 moments in the past week where I wished I was at home, lying down on my bed and hoping time passes so slowly. But, but but but, I quickly fogged off that unpleasant feeling and went to the other areas to check if it needs tidying. I must say, I felt better about myself and I learnt that by helping others, I created an atmosphere where I’m pumped to serve others and also, makes my day more enjoyable. My day (sadly) goes by faster and before I know it, it’s debrief and it’s time to go home. Important lesson for me to remember and carry wherever I go!

Importance of being Bilingual

I grew up in a family who only speaks English at home, and because the only person who spoke the mother tongue my father so decided to make me learn was gone by the time I was 8, English was the only language spoken. Side note as well, even when my mother was around, my father never let her speak Chinese to my brother and I – for reasons I will not put up here. Needless to say, I naturally shoved off and constantly pulled F/U grades on that. I was more than ecstatic when the Ministry of Education finally granted my exemption from learning Chinese. Learning German, however, has taught me that being bilingual (or even multi-lingual) is one of the best skills anyone can have. Though German is rarely (or never) spoken in an Asian country like Singapore, I manage to bless a customer who felt it was more comfortable to speak in her mother tongue than in English. Yes, she is German and she needed help but couldn’t string a sentence properly. Though I am still at the lowest level, I spoke enough for her to understand me and dear me, her face lit up – something I will never forget. After she left, I thanked God that he provided an avenue for me to practise what I’ve learnt and with enough sense to string an understandable sentence that aided her to get what she wanted. Really, TYG.

OK! I’m going to stop here before it gets any longer. If you made it this far, thank you for reading! 🙂 I hope you enjoyed this little sharing from my takings of the previous week. I’ll be back on Thursday with a F1 post so come back then. (If you have anything you want me to talk about, please do comment and follow my blog!) Until then, have a great day/night, wherever you are!

(ps. it’s quite a thing for me to open my stats and see I have a viewer in Panama like woah, thank you!)

Leave a Reply

